Gretchens B&B boat was wonderful. It's a spacious two bedroom , with two bathrooms. The main room was so cozy with a nice little fireplace (it's electrical but the flames look real :) and overstuffed seating. It was warm and toasty and the beds were stellar. I slept so soundly in my room; both of us never wanted to leave that boat! It's really nice to sleep on the boat -you hear a little creaking in the harbor and feel gentle rocking on the water. You can hear sounds from the harbor, some foghorns it was like being at sea but right in the financial district in the north end of Boston. Perfect location! Susan, Gretchen's manager was super accommodating, told us about fun things to do in Boston, extremely personable, an all-around excellent hostess. We really enjoyed meeting her. Both Gretchen and Susan were extremely easy to work with. The floating B&B was fabulous, and we can't say enough good things about it. We would definitely stay there again. My traveling friend and I both agree this was our best night's accommodation (out of four B&Bs) in Boston! Thank you.

Beth (September 2016)


Gretchen was a wonderful and attentive host. The boat was even more than we anticipated and the entire experience was truly wonderful. Sitting on the boat deck under the stars in the Boston Harbor was a experience I will not forget! Location is ideal, close and can walk almost anywhere. I will be going back!

Jay (August 2016)


Gretchen was hands down the defentition of the perfect hostess. When we arrived at her boat she was on deck waiting to meet and greet us. She took us on a tour of the boat and explained how everything worked and where everything was. She then took us on deck and pointed out where interesting sites were in the area and good places to get a meal. Her boat is located in the best part of the city for dining and site seeing. Could not recommend this location more to people traveling to Boston and want to stay on the water.

Dustin (August 2016)


The Golden Slipper B&B was the highlight of our trip visiting the east coast. It was an adventure in itself. Five of us fit and slept comfortably in it. We loved spending the evenings on the deck talking over our day, or watching the sun come up. The location could not have been better, we never used the car once. We walked to the Aquarium, Boston Harbor cruise, Faneuil Hall, Science museum, restaurants, and Golden Goose grocery store. We could go back to the boat and take a break/rest between sightseeing stops, and it was always such a comforting feeling to go back to the boat instead of a hotel room. Gretchen was great, helping me with directions and answering questions. She instructed my husband on how to get from the airport to the boat via water taxi, he was dropped off right on the Golden Slipper's dock! There is no question on where I would stay if visiting Boston again, I just would stay longer...maybe until the ice starts forming.

Pat (August 2016)


We greatly enjoyed our stay on the Golden Slipper! the boat was docked in the Boston Harbor close to restaurants, the Northeast Aquarium, the Freedom Trail, cruises, and just about everything. The experience of staying on this boat provided for a quiet and relaxing place to stay while still within walking distance of the hustle bustle activities of the inner harbor. The Golden Slipper was exactly as described and we wanted and needed nothing as everything was provided as promised. Strongly recommend that you experience this adventure.

Gary (June 2016)


Unique experience in a fantastic location!!  I stayed on the Golden Slipper with my husband and my parents for 5 nights at the beginning of June as part of a multi-city visit to the USA. None of us are 'boaters' so were really excited to try something new. We were not disappointed! We were greeted by the friendly owners who gave an in depth tour of the boat to let us know the ins and outs of being on board. We felt really welcome :) Accommodation - each of the two bedrooms are comfortable and have their own bathroom & shower. The breakfast foods provided were ample for our party size for our stay. We felt extremely safe on the boat - the wharf itself is gated and only accessible with a key. The Wifi connection was great. Location - We got a Water Taxi from the Airport and the captain knew exactly where to take us - we were dropped off directly at the mooring so we had no problems with luggage, etc. The location is perfect for accessing the main tourist sites. It is located on the next wharf along from Long Wharf (2-3 minutes walk maximum!) where Boston Harbour Cruises operate from meaning that it's easy to get the ferry to the USS Constitution, Salem, etc. Additionally, Faneuille Hall is around 5-10 minutes walk away with Little Italy a mere 2 minutes away. There is also a grocery store across the street which is extremely well stocked. Would recommend to anyone!

Lauren (June 2016)


 

“Absolutely incredible experience staying on the Slipper! We reserved the boat for the last weekend in August for our annual girls weekend (4 ladies), and it was perfection! Very clean, plenty of room, awesome deck to enjoy apps and wine under the sun and the moonlight, and incredible location! In the HEART of the north end on the waterfront. You cannot buy this location. We walked all over Boston (north end, Newburyport St, the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and walked to dinner on Hanover St). Susan (the boat manager), was so welcoming and accommodating and showed us a local market to grab anything we needed (food, wine, etc), and also picked up breakfast for us to have on the boat. Amazing overall experience, would (and will) reserve it again in a heartbeat. Boat living is THE way to live in the north end. Can't wipe the smiles off our faces from our time on this boat, and couldn't stop talking about how we would be cooped up in a hotel room otherwise....and instead here we were, on the water, on a beautiful boat, under the sun and stars. Perfect. And thank you!”

Melinda  (Sept 2015)


We enjoyed a brief but wonderful stay at the Golden Slipper. Gretchen met me at the wharf and was kind enough to help me get to the houseboat, as I had recently had ankle surgery. She is a gracious host, and interesting to talk to. The boat itself is clean and stocked with everything you could want. The location is fantastic, within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. My husband and daughters walked to the TD Garden without a problem. The North End is my favorite part of Boston, so this accommodation couldn't have been in a better spot. While not quiet at night because of the usual city hubbub, once inside the boat to sleep, the noise was muted, even with windows open. I can't recommend Gretchen or the Golden Slipper highly enough. Oh, be sure to visit the Golden Goose Market, located just across the street and through the alley! I don't even know how to begin to describe it, but it has a European vibe and offers anything you could possibly need for your stay--food of all kinds, alcohol and other beverages, toiletries, and everything in between.

Rebecca  (July 2015)


My wife and I had a wonderful time on The Golden Slipper. The boat is well maintained and the location can't be beat. Staying on a boat was a unique option and I highly recommend it! Thank you Gretchen! You are a wonderful host.

Bill (June 2015)


The Slipper was sensational! We had the best time in Boston EVER! Gretchen is great so sweet and welcoming. Staying on the Golden slipper was quite a unique way to spend with our family.

Cheers, Mark and Debbie  (May 2015)


What a glorious few warm and sunny days spent here .Took the water taxi everywhere and walk the historic sites. Great seafood at the Sail Loft , right in the same canal. Outstanding location to enjoy sipping champagne. & coffee on the aft deck .We are grateful for Gretchen's amazing hospitality. I look forward to being here again next time we are in Boston .Thank loads

Dana and Larry (May 2015)


The Golden Slipper was a golden experience. Close to everything, water taxis at the dock whenever you need them and a host extraordinaire. Gretchen gave us the skinny on living on the boat and made us feel right at home. The locale is perfect for seeing anything in town or in the water. Magical!

Larry (May 2015)


What a great find! We had an amazing stay! Gretchen was so helpful and the Golden slipper fits like a glove.(I mean like a slipper ) The stay on the Golden slipper was smooth and comfy. The Golden Goose ,the store close by ,was a great market to find everything we needed. We are already looking forward to our next day on the Slipper.

Jimmy & Sandy (May 2015)


I just wanted to tell you how VERY MUCH we enjoyed our stay on the Golden Slipper! Everything was perfect! The guys loved mornings on the upper deck while Jill and I were getting ready for our day. It was within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast coffee cake was excellent! We could not have had a better time and we are telling all of our friends that when they go to Boston they have to stay on the Golden Slipper! And I am sure we will be back. Our son lives in Springfield and his girlfriend lives in Boston, so when we come to visit we usually visit Boston - it's such an amazing city. And now that we have such an awesome place to stay, it will be even better!

Thanks so much!

Karen K.  (Sept 2013)


"My Mom & I enjoyed our stay here very much. It was a beautiful experience. It's very cozy and comfortable. I love the decorations of the vintage decor. Thank-you very much, Josephine" (May 2013)


"We enjoyed our weekend on the "Slipper". It was a great home base for graduation, and we all felt the brief"life on the sea" was relaxing and enjoyable. The Burnetts" (May 2013)


"A great experience for sailors and landlubbers alike!"

We spent four nights aboard the Golden Slipper and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Gretchen is a top notch hostess and was wonderful in explaining the nuances of living on a boat to us and our two young children. 

The Golden Slipper is clean, comfortable, and convenient to all things Boston. Many historical attractions, restaurants, and public transportation are within a five minute walk. Grocery and laundry services are nearby as well. For those choosing just to relax, the rear deck is an excellent, quiet location for watching people, the harbor and the airport departures and landings. 

Returning to the Slipper's quiet berth at the end of a busy day touring was like coming home. The beds are extremely comfortable and, along with the gentle harbor action, gave us our best sleep in recent memory. The folks on the nearby boats were extremely friendly and made us feel like neighbors, not just tourists.

For those wishing to immerse themselves in "living" the great city of Boston, the Golden Slipper will not disappoint. Countless kudos to Gretchen and the Golden Slipper!

Mike, Erin, Andrew, and Julia


"Ideal Getaway on Boston's Waterfront... On boat at Lewis Wharf, private and secure, convenient to aquarium, historic downtown and North End restaurants, the "T" and water taxi. Boat clean, stocked and very comfortable. Will return." (6/1/2010 review posted on bedandbreakfast.com)


"This was new for us, staying on the water, in a boat, no less. However, we were quickly won over, by the charm and care of this lovely yacht. The innkeepers, Gretchen and Jack, were warm and helpful, with tips for navigating Historical Boston. I will be a return customer for years to come. Thanks!" - Joan (Dec. 2009)